you bought me Bukowski – By: D.e.e.L

You bought me Bukowski
You bought me Bukowski and I can’t stop reading
You bought me Bukowski knowing the words would not leave my head
The drunken dreamer
The poet of all poets
The endless bottle and the endless imagination
You bought me Bukowski and I can’t stop reading
The hours are dwindling and I have work in the morning
It doesn’t matter
I have Bukowski
You bought me Bukowski
But where is my wine?
Where is my red wine?
He is reading his poetry
But he will not continue unless he gets his wine
Do not interrupt him
He is reading Bukowski’s Bukowski
You bought me Bukowski and I can’t stop reading
This flask has just enough to burn as i read Bukowski
This poet of all poets
Who worked hell and tapped keys
Sitting next to a waste basket filled with empty bottles
An ashtray overflowing
Just being Bukowski
His own name
His own face on his shirt as he swigs
Knowing there is such a thing as dreams
You gave me Bukowski
You gave me Bukowski and I can’t stop reading

One comment

Leave a Reply

