hundred dollar bread

poetry – by: D.e.e.L

watch out he says.
the man leaning against the brick wall of the corner store warns me. I suppose returning isn’t an option.
watch out. something bad might happen if I need milk again. if I need bread. I might need beer.
watch out.
don’t come back unless you have spare change to hand out.
around here the people expect it.
hundred dollar bill? he asks knowing damn well no one will give it. start high and haggle your free money with me.
i can spare ten. but watch out. that stuff is dangerous.
you earn it, spend it, fall into debt because of it, and spend forever earning more just to get out alive.
maybe it is easier…just to ask for it instead.

3 comments

Leave a Reply

